What Is Uninsured Motorist Coverage?

Massachusetts law requires that you must carry a minimum of $20,000.00 in uninsured motorist coverage. But what is uninsured motorist coverage? It is coverage you are required to purchase from your auto insurance carrier in the event someone without auto insurance injures you in a motor vehicle accident.

This is referred to as a “first-party claim” because it is your auto insurance carrier that is covering the loss. I suggest you carry more than the required minimum of $20, 000.00 in the event the uninsured motorist causes you serious bodily injuries that exceed $20, 000.00. This coverage is triggered if you are injured in a hit and run accident.

If you have been involved in a motor vehicle accident in Massachusetts and the at-fault driver does not have insurance, feel free to contact me with questions.

At Earley Law Group, we understand how overwhelming things can be after suffering an unexpected injury. You’re facing high medical bills that don’t stop pouring in. You’re feeling financial strain because your injury has forced you to miss work. Worst of all, your day-to-day pain and suffering weigh heavily on your mind every single minute. All because of someone else’s negligence.