Recent Upstate New York Car Crash Highlights Importance of Safety Rules More disturbing facts are emerging about the tragic limousine Read More…
1) Do I need money up-front to hire you?
No! My office only gets paid if we get you a settlement, or, if your case goes to trial, a victory at trial. My office charges the standard 33 1/3 % as a legal fee.
2) Do I have a case?
This depends on a number of factors. Were you injured? Is someone responsible for your injury? Is there insurance? Has the statute of limitations passed? Basically, this question does not have a standard response, but rather is dependent on a number of factors.
3) Will I have to go to trial?
Most cases do settle prior to trial. However, there is always a chance that your case can go to trial if the sides cannot settle the case.
4) How long do I have to bring a claim?
In Massachusetts, some claims have longer, or shorter, statute of limitations. Many claims have a three years statue of limitations in Massachusetts, but some do not. Each case is fact specific.
5) If I refuse ambulance transport does that mean I do not have a case?
No. The fact that you were not taken from the scene of your accident by ambulance does not mean you do not have a case.
6) How much do you charge for an initial consultation?
Our office charges nothing for consultations. Boston car accident lawyer Christopher Earley has successfully handled hundreds of Massachusetts car wreck cases.
1) Do I have a case?
It depends. Is the other party at fault? Are you at fault? If liability can be established against the other party, and you were injured, then you probably have a case worth pursuing.
2) How long does the process take?
That also, depends. Basically, when you are finished with your medical treatment is a good time to open a dialogue with the insurance company about reaching a possible settlement. Some cases take months, some take years, but the average case takes roughly 6 months to settle, from the date of the injury.
3) How long do I have to bring a claim?
Most Massachusetts personal injury cases have a 3-year statute of limitations, but some have a shorter, or longer limitations period.
Each case if of course different. Factors that are considered are whether or not liability or fault can be established against the other party; how much your medical bills total; for how long did you have to receive medical treatment for; did you lost wages; any permanent injuries, etc.
5) Will I have to go to court?
The vast majority of cases do settle, but sometimes lawsuits are necessary. Even after a lawsuit is filed a case can still settle. Trial is always a possibility, but it is really only a remote possibility. I am a Massachusetts personal injury lawyer that has experience going to court and trying cases in front of juries.
We do not collect a legal fee unless we recover compensation for you. That is called a contingency fee.
1.What Wages Can I Receive?
If you are completely unable to work you may be entitled to total disability benefits. These benefits are 60% of your gross weekly wages. If you have some work capacity and can partially perform your job duties, then you may collect partial disability benefits equal to 75% of your total disability rate.
Boston workers compensation attorney Christopher Earley fights to get you the benefits you deserve.
Fees for Massachusetts workers compensation lawyers are set by law. If a claim is denied and we are successful in getting you workers compensation benefits, the insurance company pays us. If a lump sum is reached, the attorney’s fee is either 15% or 20% of the settllement, depending on the terms of the settlement.
3. Can I Sue My Employer?
You generally in Massachusetts are prohibited from suing your employer for a workers compensation accident.
4. What If My Employer Does Not Have Massachusetts Workers Compensation Insurance?
This happens quite a bit. Even if your employer does not carry workers comp coverage, you may still bring a claim for benefits. The Massachusetts Workers Compensation Trust Fund provides benefits in this situation. The employer can be subjected to severe penalties should it not carry workers compensation insurance.
How Do I File For Workers Compensation? Injured workers are eligible for workers comp benefits. As long as the injured Read More…