Law Office of Christopher Earley
 

What if My Personal Injury Damages Exceed the Policy Limits of the Driver Who Hit Me?

This is a common scenario.  The driver who caused your Massachusetts motor vehicle accident only has $20k in liability protection.  But, suppose your damages (medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering) exceed $20k.  In that event you must make an underinsured claim with your auto insurance carrier.  The minimum amount you must have in Massachusetts for underinsurance is $20k.  But, your underinsurance coverage only kicks in if it exceeds the amount of the liability policy limits of the at-fault driver.  Therefore, purchase as much underinsurance coverage as you can afford.  It can make a world of difference and protects you when you most need it.