Law Office of Christopher Earley
 

Statutes of Limitations in Massachusetts for Personal Injuries

The statute of limitations in Massachusetts is the period of time in which you may sue the party or parties that caused your personal injuries.  If these stringent deadlines are missed or overlooked, your will forever be barred from bringing claims for your personal injuries.  Below is a short summary – provided by statutes-of-limitations.com – of the various personal injury statutes of limitations in Massachusetts:

Negligence/Personal Injury

Statute of Limitations: 3 years with Discovery Rule

Products Liability

Statute of Limitations: 3 years with Discovery Rule

Wrongful Death

Statute of Limitations: 3 years with Discovery Rule

Medical Malpractice

Statute of Limitations: 3 years with Discovery Rule. Maximum of 7 years after injury, unless foreign object involved and then SOL runs from when object is, or should have been, discovered.

Most Intentional Torts

Statute of Limitations: 3 years

Legal, Accountant, and Dental Malpractice

Statute of Limitations: 3 years

Other SOL

3 years: Hit-and-run accidents. 6 months after plaintiff learns of identity of defendant if written notice given to police and department of motor vehicles within 30 days of accident.

Fraud

If the person liable fraudulently conceals the cause of action, the period prior to discovery of his cause of action by the plaintiff is excluded.

Discovery Rule

SOL runs from date injury is, or should have been discovered. See specific rule for medical malpractice.

Most Intentional Torts

Statute of Limitations: 3 years

Legal, Accountant, and Dental Malpractice

Statute of Limitations: 3 years

Other SOL

3 years: Hit-and-run accidents. 6 months after plaintiff learns of identity of defendant if written notice given to police and department of motor vehicles within 30 days of accident.

Fraud

If the person liable fraudulently conceals the cause of action, the period prior to discovery of his cause of action by the plaintiff is excluded.

Discovery Rule

SOL runs from date injury is, or should have been discovered. See specific rule for medical malpractice.