Articles Posted in Common Car Accident Injury Information

Published on:

Eldrick Tont Woods, professional golf star who is better known as “Tiger” Woods, was involved in a car accident this past week in Southern California. 

The one-car car accident Mr. Woods found himself in, was identified by authorities as a “roll-over” accident, which can be defined as the type of accident that involves a car rolling over, and can be quite dangerous to the passengers traveling in the vehicle. According to reports, Tiger Woods was in fact removed from his vehicle with the Jaws of Life, and has indeed sustained severe injuries to both of his legs.

While the cause of the accident is still under investigation, first responders find that the area, full of sharp curves and large hills, may have played a large role in the accident’s occurrence; meaning accidents like these, especially when the driver is navigating at high speeds, isn’t uncommon. 

Published on:

How Are Massachusetts Injury Lawyers Paid?

If you have been injured in a Massachusetts personal injury, workers compensation, slip and fall, or car crash accident, you don’t need any money to hire a lawyer.  Boston personal injury and Boston workers compensation lawyers work on a contingency fee basis.  That means the lawyer only gets paid if you get paid.

how are Massachusetts injury lawyers paidHere is how it works:

Published on:

Is Your Car Accident Claim Worth Pursuing?

There are a number of factors that come into play when an attorney decides whether or not to take on a car accident case for a client. Here are some, but not all, of those factors:

1) Has the statute of imitations run (it is different for different types of cases)?

Published on:

Many people decide to take a stab at handling their automobile accident claim without an attorney.  That usually turns out to be a bad idea. 

Why would an insurance company be concerned about you suing their insured (the person or company that injured you and whom they insure) when you are not a lawyer?  Why would an insurance company pay you fair and reasonable compensation for your injuries when they know you don't have the leverage that an experienced attorney provides?  Why would an insurance company not try to trick you since you don't regularly handle personal injury claims? 

If you, or someone you know, has been injured in a car accident, call my office right now at 617 338 7400 or email me at cearley@chrisearley.com for a completely free, no obligation consultation.  My office does not get paid unless your case settles or wins in court.

Published on:

Don’t Have a Lawyer and the Insurance Company is Contacting You?

Each and every day Massachusetts auto insurance companies, upon learning of an auto accident in which they may have to pay out money damages, will contact you.  They will send an insurance adjuster to the home of the injured party and attempt to have him/her sign a release. The insurance adjuster shows up, big smile, and explains there is no need to get a lawyer. Then, as is very common, the adjuster will offer some small money, maybe $500, maybe $1000, to the injury victim in order to settle the case as quickly as possible.

This scenario gets me upset – and I see it all the time – because most people, after an accident, don’t know their rights, unless he/she first speaks with an auto accident attorney. The insurance adjuster know this, and capitalizes on it, in order to save the insurance company money (better for the insurance company to get rid of case fast before it has to pay out much more money when an attorney becomes involved in the case). By signing a release without first speaking with an attorney basically guarantees that you are severely limiting your rights and potential compensation.

Published on:

Many people in Massachusetts have health coverage through Blue Cross Blue Shield. Following a personal injury event (car accident, slip and fall, etc.) Blue Cross may pay a portion of your medical bills. If you receive a settlement at the end of your case, then Blue Cross has the legal right to obtain from you its share of money they paid to your medical providers on your behalf. This right arises from the contract of insurance that you have with Blue Cross. In my experience working with Blue Cross, they will typically reduce their lien by 10%.
Therefore, if you are involved in a personal injury accident in Massachusetts, and you have Blue Cross insurance coverage, expect to pay them back for the medical bills they paid on your behalf, out of your settlement.

Published on:

One of the first questions I ask a potential personal injury client is whether he has made any claims in the past. Whether it be a motor vehicle accident, slip and fall or some other claim, it is important for me to know this information. The reason is that the claims adjuster and the defense attorney (if the claim goes into suit) has access to a claims index. If you have made claims in the past, they will appear in the claims index and will come up on a search.

Therefore, before meeting with your attorney for the first time, think back to any claims you have made in the past and write them down on a piece of paper. Write down the approximate date of the accident, the type of accident it was, and any injuries you suffered as a result.

It is better that your attorney learn of these accidents at the beginning of the case, rather than during your deposition when the defense attorney will be sure to bring them up to weaken your case.

Published on:

Need Hit And Run Accident Lawyer?

Hit and run automobile accidents occur each and every day in Massachusetts.   Nationally it is shocking just how often hit and run accidents occur.  A hit and run accident is one in which the driver(s) that caused a car accident cannot be unidentified.  If you are the victim of a “hit and run,” you may be concerned about how your medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering will be compensated.  Do not worry because you are not high and dry.   Boston hit and run accident lawyer Christopher Earley can help you.

As stated in previous posts, Massachusetts requires all drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage as part of their auto insurance coverage.  The required minimum in Massachusetts is $20,000/$40,000.  The $20,000 applies if only one person is injured, and the $40,000 applies when one more than one person is injured in the “hit and run” accident.

Published on:

A statute of limitations is the period of time set through law in which you are allowed to sue someone in court.  Generally, in Massachusetts, personal injury claims such as auto accidents, slip and falls, and dog bites, have, respectively, a three-year statute of limitations.

But be very clear that not all accident/personal injury claims have a three-year statute of limitations.  Some have shorter or longer periods depending on the facts and the applicable law.  If you have been hurt in an accident, I suggest you call an attorney immediately in order to protect your legal rights.

Please contact me with any questions of comments you may have in connection with Massachusetts personal injury law.

Published on:

Lost Wages and Massachusetts Car Accident Claims

If you were involved in a car crash in Massachusetts, the insurance company that insures the car you were in at the time of the accident will pay for your lost wages. The lost wage claim is part of your PIP (Personal Injury Protection), first-party claim with the insurance company. This is part of the no-fault insurance system that we have here in Massachusetts.

The insurance company – for the car you were in at the time of the accident – will pay for up to 75% of your lost wages. Remember that PIP payments will not exceed $8000.00.

Contact Information